hot and windy

Sounds like a law firm, but it’s the weather.  A few nice days…maybe storms tonight. (shrugs)

Mid-term elections coming up.  I’m disappointed in Obama’s performance.  Guess I was one of those hoping for real change.  I’m worried about the mid-terms, mainly because of the backlash from the right.  I hear complaints all the time that using church funds to help the poor is enabling them, people need to pull themselves up by their bootstraps, etc.  Sadly, people tend to vote out of their selfishness, rather than the common good.  Love is greater than fear…I wish more folks understood that.  Bob Dylan’s words ring true: “People do what’s most convenient and then they repent.”  In the same song he writes something that rings truer for me: “Strange how people who suffer together have stronger connections than people who are most content.”

Snippets of Dylan lyrics pop up all the time in my life.  He writes about “the border towns of despair”…for years, when I drank, that’s where I lived.  I don’t have any money.  I d have many blessings, though.  My wife, my adult children, my parents and sister, my church family, my fellow clergy, my ministry…most importantly, I’m sober.  I have such good friends now in AA.  My life is good, no matter what happens.

I want a job.  Gawd, I want a job so badly I can taste it.  So, I keep looking.  Something is out there, I just haven’t found it yet.  

Leave a Reply

