Looking for God

Recently, one of my sister bloggers-in-Christ, K-w-a-k, wrote “I remember when I was in the throes of my first recognized and acted upon periods of desire for God”, and this got me to thinking…about God and my desire for God:  How did/does it happen?  What form did/does it take?

AA meetings.  I meet my Higher Power in the words and actions of my fellow alcoholics.  Sobriety is transformative at so many levels, and being with my AA friends is a powerful, spiritual moment.  Every time.  When I first got sober I thought the people around me were changing.  Harry, my sponsor, pointed out that *I* was the one who was changing…that God was working through me to help me be sober.

The Diaconate.  Not so much in liturgical function, but in preaching and in the one-on-one home or hospital visits.  Today I visited a parishioner in an ICU.  She said, “You said you’d come to see me and you came to see me!”  This surprised me.  Of course I did.  I honor my word and humbly respect the servant ministry that I’m called to as a deacon.

Reading.  Just last night I was reading “I Asked For Wonder”, a wonderful culling of the writings of Abraham Joshua Heschel, the late Jewish rabbi.  “Worship is a way of seeing the world in the light of God.”  “Man’s sin is his failure to live what he is.  Being the master of the earth, man forgets that he is the servant of God.”  “Just to be is a blessing.  Just to live is holy.”  “God is of no importance unless God is supreme importance.”   “Worship is a way of seeing the world in the light of God.”  “Man is a messenger who forgot the message.”

Amazing things, Rabbi Heschel!  Then I read words of his which speak volumes about today, our health care debates, our treatment of each other:  “In a controversy, the instant we feel anger, we have ceased striving for truth and have begun striving for ourselves.”

Leave a Reply

