Lord, have mercy…

NEW ORLEANS (AP) – A Louisiana justice of the peace said he refused to issue a marriage license to an interracial couple out of concern for any children the couple might have. Keith Bardwell, justice of the peace in Tangipahoa Parish, says it is his experience that most interracial marriages do not last long.

“I’m not a racist. I just don’t believe in mixing the races that way,” Bardwell told the Associated Press on Thursday.

+++++

(Bolding and underlining mine.)

Mixing ‘the races’?  Whiskey Tango Foxtrot?!?  We are all members of the human race, fer-cryin-out-loud!  Geez, maybe I shouldn’t have married my Native American wife…because that’s mixing the races too!  Folks like Keith Bardwell make my skin crawl……….. 

One thought on “Lord, have mercy…

  1. Hey Jon, I’m a little behind in my blog reading. This is amazing. I had to google for the link, cuz I just couldn’t believe it…I wondered, did this come from some blog, and get embellished. Nope. Found it just like you describe it. Wow, that’s all I can say as I drag my jaw back up off the floor.

Leave a Reply

