long ago


This is a photo of my grandparents, John Egger and Mary Giuliani, on their wedding day.  I do not know the date..all I know it is around 1913.  My great grandfather, Louis Giuliani, is the big man in the back row.  The little boy standing next to him is his son, Joe.  My grandfather, who shared the same birthday as I do, died when my father was six months old (in about 1923-24).  My grandmother lived into her 90s and her kid brother Joe lived well into his 80s.  Absent is my great grandmother, who was a well-known midwife in northeastern Minnesota at the turn of the last century…for all I know she may have been delivering a baby when this photo was taken!  I called her Nona and I barely remember her; she lived to about 104 and died in the mid-1960s.  My son and my father resemble my grandfather and I resemble my great grandfather.

Leave a Reply

