17FEB9, 0700 status check

When I was in middle school I suffered through an entire semester of English with “Rime of the Ancient Mariner.”  It was awful.  To this day I remember snippets from the damned thing and sometimes they jump up at me and grab my attention out of nowhere.

Since my lung was tapped I have caught up on all my sleep and my routine is to try to be in bed by 2300.  Usually I am up between 0530 and 0600.  Today I woke up at 0530.  Wife next to me sleeping.  Calico on the other side sleeping.  Sheltie at my feet sleeping.  I moved the cat, sat up on the side of the bed and thought, “Oh Sleep! It is a gentle thing, beloved from pole to pole.”  Great.  An earworm from Samuel Taylor Coleridge.  argh.

The worse part of the sarcoid now is the random frustrating fatigue.  I call it the “sarc zonk”…when I literally almost drop in my tracks to sleep.  It can happen any time, any place.  Yeserday I fell alseep during my morning AA meeting.  I can go a day or two without it happening, yet sometimes it may hit me once or twice a day. 

Today I see the ID doc and have to o to the VA to finish my paperwork.

One thought on “17FEB9, 0700 status check

  1. Jon, I am so sorry about the energy. Reading your blog has been quite the awakening for me, regarding the course of your chronic illness. Bless you as you walk this path. Let me just say this about “Rime of the Ancient Mariner:” After I got married and had my baby between my HS sophomore and junior year of high school, they “tracked” me into every home economics, and non-college track class that they could. As a HS senior, returning so that I could graduate with my class, my friends were reading Beowulf and Canterbury Tales, while I was tracked into home economics — “Design your dream kitchen.” Talk about “meh.” I finally had to go to the dean of girls and INSIST that I be allowed to take Senior (HS) English, and when I finally achieved this transfer, they were reading “The Rime of the Ancient Mariner.” That poem will always be a sign of my “salvation” from a fate worse than death.

Leave a Reply

