chronic illness

Learning to live with chronic illness is frustrating.

I have been breathless and dyspneic for the past week.  Last night I slept very poorly and didn’t go to church today even though it was Annual Meeting Sunday.  I took a shower and afterwards my sat was 84.  I’d had enough.  I called Dawn.  She left church, came home and took me to the ER at Saint Mary’s here in town. 

We waited.  I was able to do the Sunday NY Times crossword, in ink as per the usual, before I was seen by a doctor.  They drew labs, a blood gas and shot PA&Lat chest films before the doc saw me.  She was a nice person.  They gave me a nebulizer treatment, albuerol and atrovent, which turned me around!  It all makes sense now.  Fibrosis is a disease of restriction (as opposed to obstruction) and the treatment helped open me up so I could breathe better.  She sent me home with a nebulizer machine and a month worth of q4h/wa treatments.

I couldn’t be happier.  I’m actually relaxed tonight and feeling rather good.  I do see pulmodude in the morning, though.  We need to make a decision as to whether I go on oxygen either 24/7 or while I am moving about.  I hate to even contemplate that, but as I say, it is what it is.  After all, acceptance is the answer to all my problems…   

Leave a Reply

