Saturday

A quiet day.  Sunny and cold outside.  12F.  No wind.  Dawn and I slept in today.  There’s a fire going in the fireplace (gas logs, but hell, it’s a fire) and the dogs and cats are sleeping after some hard inter-species play.  Sipping Earl Grey tea.  Still a little short of air, but I feel better than I have.

I’m preaching next Sunday.  A really fun reading, from Mark:
Jesus and his disciples went to Capernaum; and
when the sabbath came, he entered the synagogue and taught. They were
astounded at his teaching, for he taught them as one having authority,
and not as the scribes. Just then there was in their synagogue a man
with an unclean spirit, and he cried out, “What have you to do with us,
Jesus of Nazareth? Have you come to destroy us? I know who you are, the
Holy One of God.” But Jesus rebuked him, saying, “Be silent, and come
out of him!” And the unclean spirit, convulsing him and crying with a
loud voice, came out of him. They were all amazed, and they kept on
asking one another, “What is this? A new teaching– with authority! He
commands even the unclean spirits, and they obey him.” At once his fame
began to spread throughout the surrounding region of Galilee.

When I read a pericope I try to read it, and listen to it, like I worship: Using my five senses.  This reading is very visual and auditory.  Lots of action, lots of shouting.  Jesus shouting in the synagogue.  I can’t wait to see where the sermon ends up.  The other readings and collect offer good thoughts, too.

I love Mark’s Gospel.  It may be the shortest Gospel, but it’s packed with action and imagery.  What I like most about Mark is that it’s funny, too…and the disciples are so much like us…totally clueless about this Jesus dude and what he’s all about.  Christ is so patient with the disciples…like he’s patient with us, I am sure.  

One thought on “Saturday

Leave a Reply

