“Can anything good come out of Nazareth?”

When I got to church this morning, Sam (jokingly) asked me if I wanted to preach and I almost called him on it and replied in the affirmative.  The Epiphany readings start out with the calling of Jesus’ disciples, and in today’s Gospel, from John, Nathaniel calls the question: “Can anything good come out of Nazareth?” Why this negativity about Nazareth?  I’s not so much about the size or importance of the place as it is about how Nazareth treats Jesus.  Luke tells us that some Nazarenes tried to throw Jesus off a cliff and kill him.  Christ must have known that his message would not be well received where he grew up; it’s no wonder he moved his headquarters to Capernaum, on the north shore of the Sea of Gaililee…collecting all those disciples on the way.

It was good being back to church after missing last week.  Everyone said they were so happy to have me back.  I love those people and as silly as it sounds it feels so good that they love Dawn and me.  Some of them are elderly.  Sam uses a microphone…I don’t have to.  My voice is theatre trained and I can be booming and effusive when I have to be.  One of those times is in church.  Dawn and I always get compliments on our voices.

Leave a Reply

