company

While waiting for pain medication I was visited by my church boss, the bishop.  Barry is a wonderful pastor to his clergy; he does a far better job of this than many bishops.  We talked at length about were I’m at spiritually through all of this.  I spoke of hope…great hope…that this will make me a more empathetic  minister and that I will use the lessons of this illness to to show how God is with us through our suffering.  God is there…sometimes it is so difficult to hear God or to see God when when I am in the throes of pain, but when all is quiet i feel buoyed by prayer.  I try, with great difficulty, to feel God’s “nearer presence” all the time.  Not easy.  That’s where faith comes in, and that’s where my trust lies.
 

Leave a Reply

